Tideswell Tales

Voices and Pictures from Tideswell and Litton's recent past

Working at Hancock’s

Queen St and Hancock's

Queen St and Hancock’s sometime during the first two decades of the 20th Century

Alison Chapman describes working at Hancock’s during the late 1930s and early 1940s.

“I worked at the Pork Shop and learned all sorts there you see. And then when Renee and Eric Thrott got married they didn’t want me then because they thought his wife would work in the shop like I had done and that’s when I went up to Hancocks.

With me being at the butchers shop they kept me attending to the bacon and ham and things that wanted slicing. They think I could bone them better than anyone else because me Uncle Cyril had taught me.

It wasn’t proper hygiene in those days, you see, because you served everything with your hands. If you’d weighed tobacco and you’d weighed sugar and then cutting your butter, you know a small piece of ration, no, you just got on with it in those days.”

11 Hancocks and Hunters Dale Norris

About Bill Bevan

Bill Bevan is an archaeologist, writer, photographer and heritage interpreter.

One comment on “Working at Hancock’s

  1. Helen Middleton
    May 22, 2014

    Wonderful memories from Alison, who is my aunt. I never knew she worked at Warrens or Hancocks. The photo is amazing and now I know why we always called the shop next to Hancocks, ‘Hunters’ even though in my day I think the board above the door said ‘Melias’

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 22, 2014 by in Traders.
Follow Tideswell Tales on WordPress.com
